Now this is what happens when your birthday happens to fall on a Thursday, you get blessed with throwback photos! It’s my amazing elder sister’s Olayinka Odujole‘s birthday today and my eldest sister Dolapo already put up some pretty old photos of them both.

Most people see pillars as very tall edifices, larger than life and what not but it’s not always like that. Some pillars are not very tall, in fact they are short but reliable and quite strong. They don’t buckle under pressure and they support whatever is placed in their care. That’s my sister, that’s who she is, that’s what she does. Our shokoro.

So while she is off in some place enjoying her birthday, I decided to share a few words about her, the cutest RN I know.

When I wanted to start @ThebourgieLife, I told her about my vision and how I wanted to bring it to life and she just told me ‘you have my back all the way’, just do it. I legit cried that night. That’s how amazing she is, always supporting my dreams and all.

She is the poster child for Faith, from her accidental choice of studying Nursing in Lagos to her traveling to ‘the abroad’ and bagging her degree plus getting registered as a Nurse in the UK, everything about her speaks of faith. There are times when I’ve given up on something and I tell her how I scared I am of moving on and she just encourages me to believe in myself because she believes in me.

She calls me her Superstar, Big Head and some other names that should not be printed but then I love her. I love my Sisi. I admit to being naughty sometimes but then I love you always.

DSC_3522.JPG

Now I didn’t plan this post, in fact for days on end I’ve been stuck on what to say and how best to tell her Happy Birthday but I just decided to pour out my heart in a note.

I hope you read this and smile Sisi. I hope you read this and know I love you, that we love you. You are blessing, a real gem and I want the world to know that. I’m grateful to God that you are my sister and that I am your ONLY younger sister.

DSC_0768

I’ll stop crying now and let you enjoy some of my favourite photos over the years. I saved some for next year so don’t worry there are more embarrassing photos in my archive.

SDC10049
Finest!

Do not be deceived, she cannot dance!
Pretending that she does not love me
DSC_0804
Always running from my kiss

SDC10050.JPG

FYI, there are nurses and there are nurses. My sister is not one of those auxiliary nurses, she is the real deal.

P.S. I have decided I’m going to be a real blogger now. With a post every week. Bear with me guys, there’s more coming.

3 thoughts on “My Sister is a year older today, Happy Birthday my Darling Sisi!

Leave a Reply

